Portpatrick Radio StationMarch 29, 2022
Killantringan Lighthouse and the MV CraigantletMarch 30, 2022
The two caves at the top of the beach at Port Mora have a fascinating history.
The cave on the left with the waterfall is called the dropping cave. It was traditionally supposed to have healing powers. On the first day in May people would bring diseased children here and bathe them in the water from the waterfall. They would leave an offering on a stone alter inside the cave in the hope of the children being cured.
The other cave is Ouchtriemakain cave. The name supposedly originates from Uchtred mac Fergus who was joint lord of galloway in the 12th century beside his brother Gille Brigte. After the disasterous Scottish invasion of Northumberland in 1174 the two brothers disagreed about whether Galloway should remain a part of Scotland. They came to blows over this and after some time of conflict between them Uchtred was captured by Gille who blinded and mutilated him and left him to die in this cave.